What are you doing now that you’ve graduated?

*This was inspired by another friend’s blog post*

As my mother would say “Whatever I damn well please.” Honestly, my current answer is SLEEP! I feel like after four years, switching my major, dropping a major to a minor, three fashion weeks, a presidential debate, three internships and a bunch of extracurricular activities later, I am pooped.

SO now for the real story. About a week after I graduated, I moved back to Texas because I wanted to be a little bit closer to home, and I wanted to start my career in Dallas. I made that decision based on the fact that I could live at home for free for a couple of months while I searched for a job. For those who know me (and for those who don’t), I am actually very close with my parents, so I know they have been happy to have me home. They, however, are not so happy with the New York accent I have picked up over the past four years. I am currently going to the gym, cooking up some new recipes, hanging out with friends, and job hunting.

Next question: How’s the job search going?
Honestly? Not so great. I have had a few interviews here and there, but I have been struggling with this notion of “experience.” There are a lot of companies that want an employee to have “2 years of experience” yet don’t count internships as such. It’s baffling to me as to why not. In all of my internships,  I wasn’t a coffee intern. I was given real world opportunities to write, publish, pitch, plan events, and have control of social media accounts, nothing out of the ordinary of an entry level position. While living in New York, I had the opportunity to intern for a designer for a full season including Fashion Week and Market, a Presidential Debate, and The Madison Square Garden Company.  I thought these would be a holy grail of experiences that would be my one way ticket to a full time job before graduation. *News flash* Not so much. I once had an interviewer say to me that he wanted me to have “full-time professional experience” for an entry level position. I cock my head in disbelief every single time I think of said hiring manager saying that. In my internships, 3 days a week, I commuted to the office, dressed professionally, sat through meetings, gave my opinions, and was able to do my job with very little supervision. It was the same as being a part-time employee, except I was a full-time student in addition to my internship. I personally think that makes me a more viable candidate, because it shows I can multitask and handle a great deal of stressful situations.

What have you learned so far?
I’ve learned not to be so cocky. While I can humble brag about my internships as much as I would like, there are also thousands of other kids who graduated with me and are looking at the same jobs at the same time. I have learned not to be jealous of my friends who graduated with jobs and to celebrate their accomplishments instead. (Shout out to my work BFF Ally who just got a job offer today! *Edit: I wrote this post on Friday.* I’m beaming with so much pride for her because we have been complaining together for weeks about the post-grad job search). I have learned that it’s OK to move back home and that I am not in this alone. Finally, I have learned to always say thank you. Thank you to my parents for supporting me, providing a roof over my head, and all of their words of encouragement when I get anxious about my future. Thank you to my friends for dealing with said anxiety, pushing me to do better, and for making me get out of my bubble now that I’m back home.

What are you doing in your free time?
This! For the first time in my life I have had more than five minutes to myself and I am half enjoying it, half really hating it. I love the fact that I have all of the time in the world to read books, go to the gym, cook, and blog. It’s nice not having to come home after a long day of work and start working on a paper due the next day (Yes, I will admit I was one of those students). On the other hand, I am hating this free time because I am getting bored. I am very ADD and always need to be on the go, and right now I’m just not doing that.
**Obviously I know that this “rut” will end and I will be working soon (fingers crossed) and back to complaining that I have no time.

On that note- If you have any thoughts, suggestions, or any feel free to drop them in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

