5 Ways to Make Your Morning Workout Better

I know I am not the only one when I say that working out early in the morning is the worst. I know I am not a morning person and I 100% dread dragging my butt out of my warm bed four days a week. I do admit though, once I am at the gym and have started my workout, it’s the best feeling in the world.

Here’s a few tricks I’m sharing to help you make the most of your morning workout.

Lay Everything Out The Night Before

I know I have to thank my mom for this one. Going back to middle school when mom taught me to have everything ready the night before. I promise when I went to college I didn’t remember to do this until I started working out. It’s a life saver though. I choose everything the night before: Sports Bra, Leggings, T-Shirt, and sneakers, and have my gym bag packed with everything I will need. All I have to do in the morning is get dressed, throw my hair in a pony, and grab my keys. It helped me get into a morning routine, so while I may not like getting up, at least it’s all ready for my cranky self and I have one less thing to complain about.

Only Have A Snack And Some Water

Having a full meal before working out isn’t great for your body. You’ll start to feel sick and sluggish either before you start or in the middle. Instead, just have half a protein bar and some cold water before and save breakfast as a post-work out meal. It’s also a great to feel like you’re rewarding yourself with that egg white omelette or avocado toast.

Set Your Alarm Clock Across The Room

I love hitting the snooze button as much as the next person, but again a lesson from mom was to put my alarm clock across the room. This forces me to get out of bed and turn it off. At that point, I’m already up and started moving so I might as well get dressed and go to the gym. I made this a non-negotiable. I will get up and I will get my butt to the gym.

Don’t Do This Alone

My roommate and I made a pact to “get fit” by graduation. Well that’s now fourteen days away and we finally figured out how to make it work. We both follow through with making sure the other is awake and we go to the gym. Having my roommate there to help motivate me and me her has been such a help. Even though she’s tired, she’ll push me to keep going for that last rep. It’s also a plus having a smoothie buddy for after.

Never Beat Yourself Down

We all lose motivation some days, and there are days we probably feel too tired to go to the gym. News Flash: IT’S OK! Most importantly, listen to your body, everyone moves at a different pace. Ease yourself into morning work outs but don’t let yourself down either or use the “tired” excuse too often.

 

Tag Your workout buddy below!

Leave a Reply

